Friday, June 03, 2005

Annual William Jones Cup Invitational tips-off in mid-July

The 27th (2005) William Jones International Invitational Tournament, known by many as Jones Cup, will tip off on July 15th. Min-shen Daily News reported as many as 11 men’s teams and 6 women’s teams will participate in the two-week tournament.

Among those men’s teams who have confirmed participation are Taiwan NT, Japan NT, Qatar NT, Kazakhstan NT, India NT, South Korea College All-Stars, Samara of Russia, AIS of Australia and a PBA team from Philippines. CTBA is still talking to Syria, Portugal and Mozambique.

If all 11 teams enter the tournament, this will be the biggest men’s Jones Cup in years.

The six teams in the women’s competition are Taiwan NT, Japan NT, New Zealand NT, South Korea All-Stars and Spartak of Russia.

Thursday, June 02, 2005

Tien Lei named SBL MVP for second straight year

Dacin forward Tien Lei was named 2004-05 SBL regular season MVP in the award banquet on his 22nd birthday, winning the MVP award for the second time in as many years. Tien was also on the All-Star First Team and led the league in rebounding.

Tien Lei had a SBL-record 11 straight double-double during the season, also became the first player to reach 1000 points, 500 rebounds, 100 assists, 100 steals and 100 blocked shots.

Tien Lei averaged for 22.6 points, 10.7 rebounds, 3.3 assists, 2.2 blocks and 1.6 steals per game during the season and led Dacin to advance to the SBL Finals, where they were swept by Yulon 3-0.

Two-time SBL champion Yulon put two players – Tsun Wen-din and Chou Shih-yuan – in the All-Star First team along with Tien Lei. The other players selected are scoring leader Lin Chi-jay of Taiwan Beer and Videoland point guard Chen Huei, who led the league in assists.

Chang Chi-feng, who is long known for his hustle and dedication, was voted Defensive Player of the Year. Sina youngster Lu Cheng-ju was named Rookie of the Year.

Tien Lei, Dacin, 61 points
Chou Shih-yuan, Yulon, 43 points
Tsun Wen-din, Yulon 26 points

SBL All-Star First Team
Tien Lei, Dacin, 27 points
Lin Chi-jay, Taiwan Beer, 24 points
Tsun Wen-din, Yulon, 23 points
Chou Shih-yuan, Yulon, 23 points
Chen Huei, Videoland, 8 points

Defensive Player of the Year
Chang Chi-feng, Dacin, 55 points
Tsun Wen-din, Yulon, 54 points
Chen Chih-chun, Yulon, 15 points

Rookie of the Year
Lu Cheng-ju, Sina, 62 points
Lin Yi-huei, Dacin, 43 points
Lin Tsun-ching, Videoland, 20 points

Sportsmanship Award
Chou Jun-san, ETSN

Stats Leader Award
Scoring: Lin Chi-jay, Taiwan Beer, 22.8 ppg
Rebounding: Tien Lei, Dacin, 10.7 rpg
Assists: Chen Huei, Videoland, 5.4 apg
Blocks: Tsun Wen-din, Yulon, 2.4 bpg
Steals: Chou Shih-yuan, Yulon, 2.7 spg