Friday, July 28, 2000

Day 4- 5 Report : Taiwan, New Zealand Won Preliminary

Taiwan and New Zealand national team both finished with a perfect 4-0 record in the preliminary round of the 23rd William Jones Cup. Taiwan trounced Hong Kong 82-30 in the final first round game and won the Group A. New Zealand topped Group B with a 75-52 victory over South Korea.

Philippines upset Japan NT 93-82 in the most exciting game in day 4 and squeezed in the final four. In today's crossover semis, Philippines will face Sydney-bound New Zealand, Taiwan will take on Korea. Taiwan and New Zealand are favored to advance to the final.

Day 5, July 27
Taiwan 82-30 Hong Kong
All Taiwanese scored in this "exhibition game". Chiu Chi-Yi led with 17 points on 5 three-pointers. Young phenom Chen Hsin-An collected 9 points and 7 rebounds in limited action.

New Zealand 75-52 South Korea
Trailing 30-43 in halftime to the taller and stronger New Zealand, Koreans twice managed two points lead on hot-shooting of Lee Hyung Joo early in the second half. However Lee left the court after suffering two elbows, Koreans collapsed and scored only 8 points in the final 11 minutes. 205cm center Kim Joo Sung led the Koreans with 13 points. Tony Rampton and Ralph Lattimore paced New Zealand with 18 points each.

Philippines 93-82 Japan
American Christopher Clay again tallied 33 points to lead the Philipinos, which dominated the paint with 19 offensive rebounds. Japan did make 13 three-pointers on nearly 60% accuracy, but it's not enough to overcome their miserable 33% shooting in the two-point territory and poor execution.

South Africa 57-49 Costa Rica
South Africa finally recorded the first win in their 8-year Jones Cup history. Costa Rica lost a game it was supposed to win, surrendering 16 offensive rebounds to the younger and energetic South Africans.

Day 4, July 26
Taiwan 90-80 Japan
New Zealand 89-33 Taiwan 2nd
South Korea 88-69 Costa Rica
Malaysia 74-45 Hong Kong

1. Taiwan 4-0
2. Philippines 3-1
3. Japan 2-2
4. Malaysia 1-3
5. Hong Kong 0-4

1. New Zealand 4-0
2. South Korea 3-1
3. South Africa 1-3
4. Costa Rica 1-3
5. Taiwan 2nd 1-3