Monday, June 11, 2001

CTUSF Lost in AUBC Final

Unable to stop opposing 6-8 bigman De Ocampo, CTUSF (Chinese Taipei University Sports Foundation) lost their composure in the final quarter as CTUSF handed the championship trophy to the Philippines, losing 72-82 to St. Francis of Assissi College in the 2nd Asian University Basketball Championships on June 9.

De Ocampo pumped in 13 straight points to lead a 13-5 spurt at the start of the fourth quarter, as St. Francis rallied from a five point deficit and jumped to a 73-70 lead in the middle of the period. St. Francis increased the lead to 80-72 after two straight three-pointers and became the second Philippines team to win the tournament, following last year's University of Manila.

Chinese-Taipei was still ahead, 65-60, when De Ocampo started to assert himself in the shaded lane. Shocked by the sudden turn of events, the Taiwanese made hurried shots and turned the ball twice in succession as St. Francis took a 73-70 lead.

ST FRANCIS 82 - De Ocampo 23, Labian 13, Vergara 13, Espino 10, De Ocampo 9, Sotto 6, Punzalan 4, Kiram 4, Billanes 0, Adrimessen 0.

CTUSF 72 - Wu Chang C 15, Chang Chih-feng 15, Chien Ming-fu 12, Lin Che-wei 10, Chen Huei 7, Cheng Jen-jay 4, Huang Fu-shun 4, Shan Wei-fan 3, Ha Hsiao-yuan 2, Chen Ying-sho 0.

Quarters: 21-17, 41-42, 60-65, 82-72.