Thursday, December 21, 2006

2007 SBL schedule announced

The schedule of 2007 SBL season was announced Wednesday as defending champion Yulon will meet Taiwan Beer, which lost to Yulon in the Finals last season, in the opening game on January 6, 2007.

The regular season will run from Jan. 6 - May 6 for a total of 105 games with each team playing 30 games, meeting every opponent five times. Playoffs will start from May 11 and end on June 3, 2007 if the Finals goes to seven games.

YMY will change its name to Azio, a cable televesion station, due to sponsor change.

The 2007 season will be the first time that SBL games being held in cities outside of Taipei. Sixteen games will be moved to Miaoli, a mid-Taiwan city, and the southern city of Tainan in April and May.

The league also added a venue -- Sinjhuang Stadium in Taipei County -- in metro Taipei in addition to Taipei Physical Education College Gymnasium, where all the SBL games were held during the last three years.

Seven teams will play in exhibition games from Dec. 30, 2006 - Jan. 2, 2007.

2007 SBL Primers:

Bank of Taiwan
Dacin Tigers
ETSN Antelopes
Taiwan Beer
Videoland Hunters
Yulon Dinos

Regular season: Jan. 6 - May 6, 2007
105 games with each team playing 30 games

Playoffs: May 11 - June 3, 2007
1 vs. 4 and 2 vs. 3 in best-of-three semifinals
Losers meet in a best-of-five third-place series
Winners meet in a best-of-seven title series