Thursday, June 26, 2008

2008 Jones Cup Athletes in Action roster

It has not been announced yet, but here's the U.S. AIA team roster I obtained from a friend of mine. AIA won the 2006 Jones Cup and finished for the 6th place last year under head coach Mike Jarvis, who now coaches the Florida Atlantic University.

After taking the first look at the roster, I think this is probably the strongest team the AIA has ever sent to Taiwan. And once again, it was led by a controversial coach as Dave Bliss was involved in the so-called scandal in Baylor University back in 2003.

Everyone needs a fresh start though. Here I'm hoping Taiwan can be the starting line for Bliss' career -- although he's not likely to have another chance to coach the Division I team again.


Athletes in Action roster for 2008 William Jones Cup

Head coach: Dave Bliss
Assistants: Nick Graham (Washington St.), Phil Bollier (Mill Creek HS, GA)

(Name, DOB, Ht./Wt., School)
Dane Brumagin  1986.8.9  193/88  UMKC  17.1p+4.8rb
Da'Sean Butler  1988.1.25  201/102  West Virginia  12.9p+6.2rb
Jamel McLean  1988.4.18  205/107  Xavier  (redshirt, Tulsa transfer)
Marcus Kitts  1989.1.31  206/95  William & Mary  2.4p
Laval Lucas-Perry  1989.3.15  186/88  Michigan  4p
Stephen McDowell  1985.7.19  185/82  Chattanooga  14.3p
Wellington Smith  197.5.1  201/97  West Virginia  5.2p+3.8rb
Brett Winkelman  1986.1.30  202/100  North Dakota State  19.2p+8.3rb
Benjamin Woodside  1985.7.1  186/84  North Dakota State  20.7p+5.1a
Manny Harris  1989.9.21  195/82  Michigan  16.1p+4.2rb

You can also read the full roster here (Brumagin Selected To U.S. Jones Cup Team). One thing to note though – Michigan’s Manny Harris was not on the list I obtained.