Monday, July 03, 2006

Six women's teams in Jones Cup tournament

The annual William Jones Cup International Invitational Tournament will tip off July 8 in Taipei with 8 men's teams and 6 women's teams participating in the most popular basketball event in Taiwan.

The men's competition will be played from July 8-16 while the women's competition follows from July 17-21. All games will be played in Taipei Physical Education College Gymnasium.

CTBA did not elaborate in its press release about the exact participating teams, only listing the country names of participating teams on the game schedule.

Six participating teams will play in a single round robin system to determine the winner.

Women's Schedule

July 17
15:00 Australia vs. Italy
17:00 Korea vs. New Zealand
19:00 Taiwan vs. Japan

July 18
15:00 Italy vs. Korea
17:00 Japan vs. Australia
19:00 Taiwan vs. New Zealand

July 19
15:00 Korea vs. Japan
17:00 New Zealand vs. Italy
19:00 Taiwan vs. Australia

July 20
15:00 Australia vs. Korea
17:00 Japan vs. New Zealand
19:00 Taiwan vs. Italy

July 21
15:00 Japan vs. Italy
17:00 New Zealand vs. Australia
19:00 Taiwan vs. Korea
21:00 Closing Ceremony