Monday, March 19, 2007

Nan-shan beat Hsin-jung in OT to win 2007 HBL title

Led by Wu Min-hsien's 27 points, Nan-shan HS beat defending champion Hsin-jung HS 78-76 in overtime to win its 4th HBL title in school history in front of crowds over 18,000.

Nan-shan, which won HBL titles in 1991, 1996, 2004 and 2007, became the third school to win four titles in HBL history, following Ping-tung HS and Tsai-shin HS.

Lee Jun-wei had 18 points and 9 rebounds for the winner, while Chang Tsun-hsien scored a game-high 32 points and 7 rebounds for Hsin-jung before fouling out. Chen Nian-an had 12 points for the runner-up.

Nung-jen HS routed Kao-yuan HS 74-54 in the third-place game and finished third for the second consecutive year. Lee Ming-huei had 27 points and point guard Yang Cheng-lun turned in 15 points, 5 boards, 9 steals and 7 assists for Nung-jen.

In women's title game, Hai-shan beat Tamsui 73-67 to become the third repeat winner in HBL women's competition history.

HBL champion year-by-year:
Year Champion Runner-up
2006-07 Nan-shan HS Hsin-jung HS
2005-06 Hsin-jung HS Nan-shan HS
2004-05 Tsai-shin HS Hsin-jung HS
2003-04 Nan-shan HS San-min HS
2002-03 Tsai-shin HS Hsin-jung HS
2001-02 Tasi-shin HS Kao-yuan HS
2000-01 San-min HS Tsai-shin HS
1999-00 San-min HS Song-shan HS
1998-99 Ping-tung HS Nan-shan HS
1997-98 Tsai-shin HS Ping-tung HS
1996-97 Ping-tung HS Nan-shan HS
1995-96 Nan-shan HS Tsai-shin HS
1994-95 Li-chih HS Nan-shan HS
1993-94 Li-chih HS Nan-shan HS
1992-93 Ping-tung HS Li-chih HS
1991-92 Li-chih HS Feng-yuan Business HS
1990-91 Nan-shan HS Oriental HS
1989-90 Ping-tung HS Nan-shan HS
1988-89 Miaoli HS Ping-tung HS