Monday, September 17, 2012

Taiwan 1-1 after two games in Asia Cup


Taiwan NT beat India 113-88 on Sunday after suffering an opening setback against host Japan on Saturday and is now 1-1 after two games in the 2012 FIBA Asia Cup tournament in Tokyo, Japan.

Jet Chang led Taiwan with 20 points, making four of five from the three-point range, in the India game. Tien Lei added 12 points.

Indian center Amritpal Singh paced his team with 22 points.

However, Taiwan head coach Hsu Chin-tse was not impressed with Taiwan’s defense, which was also why the team dropped its opening game 90-78 to Japan.

J.R. Henderson led Japan with 19 points and 10 rebounds as host Japan led from start to finish on Saturday for a revenge of a 25-point loss against Taiwan in the Jones Cup tournament.

Tien Lei led Taiwan with 19 points and seven boards and Tseng Wen-ting added 15 and 6.

Taiwan vs. India gallery (FIBA Asia)

2012 Asia Cup facts
(Source: FIBA Asia)

·         The 4th FIBA Asia Stankovic Cup is the qualifying event for the 27th FIBA Asia Championship in 2013, which in turn will be the qualifying event for 2014 FIBA World Cup to be held in Spain.

·         The winners of the 4th FIBA Asia Cup will automatically qualify for the 27th FIBA Asia Championship in 2013.

·         The top four teams at the 4th FIBA Asia Cup will earn additional berths for their respective FIBA Asia sub zones.

·         This is the first time Japan will host the FIBA Asia Cup.

·         A FIBA Asia event for men returns to Japan after a gap of five years – the 24th FIBA  Asia Championship at Tokushima in 2007 being the previous occasions.

·         Japan, however, hosted the 24th FIBA Asia Championship for Women at Omura last year.

·         Japan has also hosted the FIBA Asia Championship on four other earlier occasions – Tokyo 1971, Nagoya 1979, Kobe 1991 and Fukuoka 1999 being them.

·         The 4th FIBA Asia Cup will witness the maiden appearance of 15 times FIBA Asia champions China in this competition. China are the reigning FIBA Asia champions having won the gold at the 26th FIBA Asia Championship at Wuhan last year.

·         GCC powerhouse Qatar are the only team to have appeared in all the previous editions of this event – then known as FIBA Asia Stankovic Cup. Qatar were also the champions in its inaugural edition in 2004 at Chinese Taipei.

Official Name
4th FIBA Asia Cup

Sept 14 – 22, 2012

Tokyo, JAPAN

Ota City General Gymnasium

Official website

Participating Teams
·         East Asia: China, Taiwan, Japan, Macau
·         S.East Asia: Philippines.
·         South Asia: India
·         Central Asia: Uzbekistan.
·         Gulf: Qatar
·         West Asia: Iran, Lebanon.

Groupings for Preliminary Round
Group A
·         China (CHN)
·         Lebanon (LIB)
·         Macau (MAC)
·         Philippines (PHI)
·         Uzbekistan (UZB)

Group B
·         Taiwan (TPE)
·         Iran (IRI)
·         Japan (JPN)
·         Qatar (QAT)
·         India (IND)

System of Competition

·         The 10 teams are drawn into two Groups of five each for the Preliminary Round.
·         Each team will play all the others in their respective Groups.
·         The top four from each Group will advance to the Quarterfinal play-offs