Thursday, July 12, 2001

ABC Championship Bracket Revised

Following a redraw, the Asian Basketball Confederation has confirmed the official results of the revised grouping for the 21st ABC Championship, which will be held in China from July 20-28 at the Shanghai International Gymnastics Center.

Except for Qatar, defending champ China is expected to breeze past its other two opponents in the Preliminary Round in Group A, which has Qatar, Hong Kong, China and Thailand.

Group B has 1999 runner-up Korea, UAE, West Asia 1 and Singapore. Singapore were tapped to replace Philippines after the latter were suspended by FIBA due to the messy and unsettled leadership squabble since late last year.

Group C has Taiwan, Uzbekistan and India while Group D consists of Japan, Kuwait and the second representative from West Asia.

The two West Asia representatives will be confirmed after the last game of the WABA qualifying tournament. Lebanon currently with 8 points lead the WABA participants followed closely by Iran, Iraq and Syria, all with 6 points apiece and Jordan with 4 points. Lebanon just needs to win 1 of its 3 remaining games to qualify.

Revised Groupings
Group A - China, Hong Kong, Thailand, Qatar
Group B - Korea, UAE, Singapore, West Asia I
Group C - Taiwan, Uzbekistan, India
Group D - Japan, Kuwait, West Asia II