Sunday, June 05, 2011

Schedule of 2011 FIBA Asia Championship for Women released

FIBA Asia released the schedule of the 2011 FIBA Asia Championship for Women Sunday as Taiwan is scheduled to meet India in its first game of the biennial tourney, which will be played in Omura, Nagasaki, Japan from August 21-28.

2011 FIBA Asia Championship WomenTaiwan, one of six teams in the Level I, will play five games in the preliminary round. The schedule is listed as below:

Aug. 21 India
Aug. 22 Japan
Aug. 23 Lebanon
Aug. 24 China
Aug. 25 Korea

Level I (six teams): China, Korea, Japan, Taiwan, India, Lebanon
Level II (six teams): Malaysia, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Sri Lanka, Indonesia, Singapore

The tournament will adopt a round robin format in the preliminary round with top four teams in the Level I advancing to the cross-over semifinals on August 27.

According to FIBA Asia:

Omura, a castle town from where Catholic saint St. Marina de Omura hailed will play host to the 12 top women basketball teams in Asia from Aug 21-28, 2011. Six teams will form the Elite Level I, from where the champions will be decided.

The champions of the 24th FIBA Asia Championship for Women will earn an automatic entry to the 2012 London Olympics. The teams finishing second and third will earn the opportunity to represent FIBA Asia in the FIBA Olympic Qualifiers.

Six other teams will play in the Qualifying Level II with the top two attempting to earn promotion to next edition's Level I.